Nigeria Agricultural Project

The aim of this agricultural project, launched in 2017, is to improve the socioeconomic situation of low income families and the productivity of the smallest and smaller agricultural enterprises in Nigeria.

In the project, young employees in agriculture, as well as their financial service providers, are to be assisted. This development of training and further training systems aims at increasing local values, so that managerial staff, who often move away to the country’s cities, see an economic perspective in rural areas. It is also intended, to increase enterprise efficiency, in order to be able, to invest and create jobs, thanks to financial capacity and lower loan interest rates.

Specifically, the project beneficiary groups, among them around 30,000 small farmers, as well as employees of the microfinance banks and agricultural partner enterprises, will undergo training and new (dual) vocations will be introduced for initially 100 trainees. On a 12-month dual training course (modelled on the German system), trainees can qualify as ‘agricultural quality technicians’ or ‘livestock farming technicians’.

Partners in Nigeria include AHK Nigeria, the four microfinance banks LAPO, Accion, Fortis and Avans/Lafayette, TGI Holding and a further four Nigerian agricultural corporations.

AFOS Foundation’s experience in the Nigerian microfinance sector and in dual vocational training projects in the Philippines enable the transfer of know-how and promise successful interworking and cooperation between the various local project partners.

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone

Nigeria Agric I – Projekt

Das übergeordnete Ziel des 2017 angelaufenden Agrar-Projekts besteht darin, die sozioökonomische Lage von geringverdienenden Familien und die Leistungsfähigkeit kleinster und kleinerer Unternehmen im ländlichen Raum Nigerias zu verbessern.

Im Projekt sollen junge Beschäftigte in der Landwirtschaft, ebenso wie deren Finanzdienstleister gefördert werden. Dieser Ausbau des Aus- und Fortbildungssystems zielt auf eine höhere lokale Wertschöpfung ab, damit Führungskräfte, die oft in die Metropolen abwandern, im ländlichen Raum gehalten werden können. Auch soll eine Effizienzsteigerung in Unternehmen erreicht werden, um durch finanzielle Spielräume, auch dank niedrigerer Kreditzinsen, investieren und Arbeitsplätze generieren zu können.

Konkret: Zum einen werden die Projekt-Zielgruppen, unter ihnen rund 30.000 Kleinbauern sowie Mitarbeiter der Mikrofinanzbanken und der Agrar-Partnerunternehmen an Schulungen teilnehmen, zum anderen werden neue Berufsbilder für anfangs 100 Auszubildende geschaffen werden. In einer 12-monatigen dualen Ausbildung (nach deutschem Modell) können Abschlüsse zum Agrarqualitätstechniker oder Nutztierhaltungstechniker erworben werden.

Partner in Nigeria sind die AHK Nigeria, die vier Mikrofinanzbanken LAPO, Accion, Fortis und Avans/Lafayette, die TGI Holding und vier weitere nigerianische Agrarunternehmen.

Erfahrungen der AFOS-Stiftung im nigerianischen Mikrofinanzsektor und bei Projekten dualer Ausbildung auf den Philippinen ermöglichen einen Knowhow-Transfer und versprechen eine gute Verknüpfung und Zusammenarbeit der verschiedenen lokalen Akteure.

 

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone