Development Cooperation in the Philippines

Strengthening trade & industry chamber structures – fostering enterprise

In 2009 the AFOS Foundation entered into a partnership with the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industrie (CCCI) in the Philippines. Together they assist small business people and the rising middle class. This is being done in three areas:

  • strengthening self-organisation of business people in trade & industry chambers and associations
  • support for the trade & industry chambers and associations by advising their members with regard to product development, marketing and quality assurance
  • qualification of business people and their employees and associates by vocational In CT 05training

The Cebu Chamber (CCCI) represents more than 700 businesses in Cebu City and the province of that name. Thanks to German support since the end of the 1980s the chamber has been very professionally organised and provides important services to its members.

With the support of the AFOS Foundation it aims to share its experience and its know-how with the smaller and developing trade & industry chambers and associations in the surrounding Visayas Islands and in the north of the island of Mindanao. Here there are five main aims:

OURFood1

  • to professionalise trade & industry chamber and association management
  • to expand the membership base
  • to lastingly safeguard finances
  • to develop demand-oriented services for members and
  • to strengthen political interest groups

In its work the AFOS Foundation draws upon the relevant expertise of the members of the Confederation of Catholic Entrepreneurs (BKU) and its network. Today two so-called long-term experts and local AFOS workers are responsible for the operative execution of projects locally. Through the German economy’s development organisation sequa the Federal German Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) finances the greater part of activities within the partnership.

Professionalising trade & industry chambers’ and associations’ services

When advising and qualifying the trade & industry chambers and associations to professionalise and expand their services, the AFOS’s and CCCI’s cooperation concentrates on three main sectors (sector units):tourism05

  • the food economy
  • tourism
  • furniture/interior furnishings, fittings & decoration

Considerable progress has been made in this area in the past six years. Consulting and services have helped many member enterprises to improve the quality of their products and services, to expand their business activity and to open up additional sales markets. One important success factor here was the cooperation of enterprises in the various sector units and
the correspondent building of networks, in which they have also formed new customer and supply relationships.
Because of the positive results, the trade & industry chambers and associations have in recent years also been able to attract public funds from local government offices or to work as service providers for them. In some provinces, authorities have engaged trade & industry chambers to register enterprises.
These activities have not only put trade & industry chambers’ financial basis on a solid footing, they have also strengthened their standing with government authorities. Trade & industry chambers and associations have, in accordance with the principle of subsidiarity, been successfully established as institutions of the publicly organised business world. They are, thus, growing into a new role.
The CCCI and its sister trade & industry chambers and associations intend to take on a role, that is new for the Philippines, including in the area of vocational training.

AFOS Foundation’s current projects in the Philippines raise the quality of vocational training, support reconstruction after Typhoon Yolanda and help accomplish educational reform.

Focus on vocational training

To improve the quality of products and services of individual enterprises, advisory services and other forms of assistance are all well and good, but they are not sufficient. Business people’s and their employees’ and associates’ qualification deficiencies can be lastingly remedied only by a systematic approach. It was therefore quickly agreed between AFOS Foundation and its Philippine partners, that German experience with dual vocational training should be applied to further development locally.

In 2011, AFOS Foundation and the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) intensified and expanded their cooperation with two of the smaller trade & industry chambers and associations. This included cooperation with Negros Oriental Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NOCCI) in Dumaguete (East Negros) and the Association of Negros Producers (ANP) in Bacolod (West Negros). In the food sector, they launched a pilot project for catch-up vocational training. Starting from the realisation that without the enterprise operators themselves ’real’ dual training using the enterprise as the primary place of learning, is not possible, these enterprise operators must, therefore, first be qualified and further-trained.

DSC08651

OURFood: qualification in the agricultural / food sector

OURFood2The choice of the food economy as a pilot sector, reflects development needs and potentials. The Philippines are a net importer of foodstuffs. Farming and the further-processing food economy are not productive enough and do not fulfil common standards of modern food safety and quality.
The aim of the pilot project is to improve the quality of products by means of vocational training at the three levels of the value-added chain in the food economy (production, processing, trade), and to fit those involved for production in accordance with the quality standards in force at any time.OURFood10Involved in the OURFood project with a large number of relevant training courses and seminars, as well as with consulting, marketing and promotion are the cooperative partners (CCCI, ANP and NOCCI). The small farmers, cooperating with ANP, are the first in the Philippines to have been certified as GAP(Good Agricultural Practice)-compliant. The farmers’ associations in Negros Oriental and Cebu Province were set to do the same in the course of 2016. For the purposes of catch-up vocational training, courses in specific vocational fields (e.g. baking, butchery, food technology) have been offered by the trade & industry chambers for the food sector since 2013. OURFood7

The trade & industry chambers’ portfolio also includes services and training seminars in the area of GMP (good manufacturing practice) or HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points).

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone

Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auf den Philippinen

Kammerstrukturen stärken – Unternehmertum fördern

In den Philippinen ist die AFOS-Stiftung 2009 eine Partnerschaft mit der Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industrie (CCCI) eingegangen. Gemeinsam fördern sie Kleinunternehmer und den entstehenden Mittelstand. Dies geschieht in drei Bereichen:

  • Stärkung der Selbstorganisation der In CT 05Unternehmer in Kammern und Verbänden
  • Unterstützung der Kammern und Verbände bei der Beratung ihrer Mitglieder hinsichtlich Produktentwicklung, Marketing und Qualitätssicherung
  • Qualifizierung der Unternehmer und ihrer Mitarbeiter durch berufliche Bildung

In der Cebu Chamber (CCCI) sind über 700 Unternehmen aus Cebu City und der gleichnamigen Provinz organisiert. Dank deutscher Unterstützung seit Ende der 1980er Jahre ist die Kammer hochprofessionell organisiert und erbringt für ihre Mitglieder wichtige Dienstleistungen.

Mit Unterstützung der AFOS-Stiftung will sie ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Know-how an die kleineren und noch im Aufbau befindlichen Kammern und Verbände auf den umliegenden Visayas-Inseln und im Norden der Insel Mindanao weitergeben. Dabei gibt es fünf Hauptziele:

OURFood1

  • das Kammer- und Verbandsmanagement zu professionalisieren
  • die Mitgliederbasis zu verbreitern
  • die Finanzen nachhaltig abzusichern
  • nachfrageorientierte Dienstleistungen für die Mitglieder zu entwickeln und
  • die politische Interessenvertretung zu stärken

Die AFOS-Stiftung greift bei ihren Aktivitäten auf die fachliche Expertise der Mitglieder des Bundes Katholischer Unternehmer (BKU) und dessen Netzwerk zurück. Heute sind zwei so genannte Langzeitexperten und lokale AFOS-Mitarbeiter für die operative Ausführung der Projekte vor Ort zuständig. Über die Entwicklungsorganisation der deutschen Wirtschaft, sequa, finanziert das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) den Großteil der Aktivitäten innerhalb der Partnerschaft.

 

Dienstleistungen der Kammern und Verbände professionalisieren

Bei der Beratung und Qualifizierung der Kammern und Verbände zur Professionalisierung und Erweiterung ihrer Dienstleistungen konzentriert sich die Zusammenarbeit von AFOS und CCCI auf drei Schwerpunktsektoren (sector units):tourism05

  • Lebensmittelwirtschaft
  • Tourismus
  • Möbel / Inneneinrichtung

In den vergangenen sechs Jahren konnten auf diesem Gebiet erhebliche Fortschritte erzielt werden. Die Beratungen und Dienstleistungen haben vielen Mitgliedsunternehmen geholfen, die Qualität ihrer Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu verbessern, ihre Geschäftstätigkeit zu erweitern und zusätzliche Absatzmärkte zu erschließen. Ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor war dabei die Zusammenarbeit der Unternehmen in den jeweiligen Sektoren (sector units) sowie zwischen den verschiedenen Kammern und Verbänden und die entsprechende Bildung von Netzwerken, in denen sie auch neue Kunden- und Lieferbeziehungen geknüpft haben.
Auf Grund der positiven Ergebnisse konnten die Kammern und Verbände in den vergangenen Jahren für ihre Dienstleistungen auch öffentliche Mittel lokaler Regierungsstellen einwerben oder als Dienstleister für diese tätig werden. In einigen Provinzen haben die Behörden die Kammern mit der Registrierung der Unternehmen beauftragt.
Diese Aktivitäten haben nicht nur die finanzielle Basis der Kammern auf solide Füße gestellt, sondern auch ihre Stellung gegenüber den staatlichen Behörden gestärkt. Es ist gelungen, die Kammern und Verbände im Sinne des Subsidiaritätsprinzips als Institutionen der ‚verfassten Wirtschaft‘ zu etablieren. Sie wachsen somit in eine neue Rolle hinein.
Eine für die Philippinen neue Rolle wollen die CCCI und ihre Schwesterkammern und –verbände auch im Bereich der beruflichen Bildung übernehmen.

Die aktuellen Projekte der AFOS-Stiftung auf den Philippinen erhöhen die Qualität der beruflichen Bildung, unterstützen den Wiederaufbau nach dem Taifun Yolanda und helfen bei der Durchsetzung der Bildungsreform.

 

Berufliche Bildung im Fokus

Um die Qualität der Produkte und Dienstleistungen der einzelnen Unternehmen zu verbessern, sind Beratungsdienstleistungen und andere Unterstützungen richtig und wichtig, aber sie reichen nicht aus. Die Qualifizierungsdefizite der Unternehmer und ihrer Mitarbeiter lassen sich nur durch eine systematische Herangehensweise nachhaltig beheben. Sehr schnell bestand daher zwischen der AFOS-Stiftung und den philippinischen Partnern Einigkeit, die deutschen Erfahrungen aus der dualen beruflichen Bildung für die weitere Entwicklung vor Ort zu nutzen.

Im Jahr 2011 haben die AFOS-Stiftung und die Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industrie (CCCI) ihre Zusammenarbeit mit zwei der kleineren Kammern und Verbänden intensiviert und ausgeweitet. Dazu zählen die Kooperation mit der Negros Oriental Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NOCCI) in Dumaguete (Ost-Negros) und die Association of Negros Producer (ANP) in Bacolod (West-Negros). Im Lebensmittelsektor starteten sie auf den IDSC08651nseln Cebu und Negros ein Pilotprojekt der „nachholenden“ beruflichen Bildung. Ausgehend von der Erkenntnis, dass ohne die Unternehmer selbst eine ‚echte‘ duale Ausbildung mit dem Unternehmen als primärem Lernort nicht möglich ist, werden diese also zunächst selbst qualifiziert und fortgebildet.

 

OURFood: Qualifizierung im Lebensmittelsektor

Die Wahl der Lebensmittelwirtschaft als OURFood2Pilotsektor spiegelt die Entwicklungsnotwendigkeiten- und potentiale wider. Die Philippinen sind Nettoimporteur von Lebensmitteln. Die Landwirtschaft und die weiter-verarbeitende Lebensmittelwirtschaft haben eine niedrige Produktivität und erfüllen die gängigen Standards der Lebensmittelsicherheit und –qualität nicht.
Ziel des Pilotprojektes ist es, durch berufliche Bildung entlang der drei Stufen der Wertschöpfungskette in der Lebensmittelwirtschaft (Produktion, Verarbeitung, Handel) die Qualität der OURFood10Produkte zu erhöhen und die Beteiligten zur Produktion entsprechend der geltenden Qualitätsstandards zu befähigen.
Am OURFood-Projekt sind die Kooperationspartner (CCCI, ANP und NOCCI) mit einer Vielzahl von einschlägigen Trainings und Seminaren sowie mit Beratung, Marketing und Promotion beteiligt. Die Kleinbauern, die mit ANP kooperieren, sind die ersten in den Philippinen, die GAP zertifiziert wurden (Good Agricultural Practices). Die Bauernverbände in Negros Oriental und Cebu Province werden voraussichtlich im Laufe des Jahres 2016 folgen. Im Sinne einer nachholenden beruflichen Bildung werden von den Kammern für den Lebensmittelsektor seit 2013 Kurse in bestimmten Berufsfeldern (z.B. Bäckereihandwerk, Metzgerei, Lebensmitteltechnik) angeboten.OURFood7 Darüber hinaus gehören Serviceleistungen und Trainingsseminare im Bereich GMP (Good Manfacturing Practices) oder HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points) zum Portfolio der Kammern.

 

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone