OURFood Project

All about the project: The “OURFood Chronicles” online.

Official end of the project

After seven years of very successful collaboration of AFOS Foundation for Entrepreneurial Development Cooperation with Filipino Chambers of Commerce & Industry in the central Visayas region, supported by the Federal German Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development, sequa gGmbH, BKU e. V.and many other partners, the OURFood Project was officially closed on 30th September 2018. AFOS Foundation staff are very proud of the many positive results, this vocational training partnership project has achieved.

With the objective of implementing and improving qualification programs, in order to strengthen the competitiveness of the regional agro industry, 12 agricultural associations, involved in the project, have obtained certifications of their „good agricultural practices“ (GAP) – three of those have even reached ‘organic standards’. In the project regions on the islands Negros and Cebu, a total of 1,365 small farmers have been trained in organic and sustainable agricultural techniques, 285 farmers have been taught basics of business administration. Moreover, the organic focus of the farmers‘ associations permitted improving the access to the market insofar, as more than 20 products have been produced, complying with market requirements and product standards;  also, the members of the farmers’ associations have gained access to six new markets for their products.

In the course of the project, not only the competitiveness of the individual small agro enterprises was improved, also a positive influence on the development of the local and regional food industry sector can be observed: project chambers of commerce or business associations, which have incorporated services like GAP training and consultation in their regular portfolios, have linked themselves in different communities with local government units, in order to implement measures, to sensitize consumers on food quality and food safety.

The official end of the OURFood project means in no way the end of a highly successful project:  the environmentally friendly and healthy practices, which have been acquired during the OURFood program, are already employed by 75 per cent of the project farmers. Moreover, media multiplyers are sensitizing ‘non-project farmers’ on food safety and quality standards, thus passing on their know how.

Sustainability guaranteed!

 

Qualification in the food sector

The choice of the food economy as pilot sector reflects development needs and potentials. The Philippines are a net importer of foodstuffs. Farming and the further-processing food economy are not productive enough and do not fulfil common standards of food safety and quality.

The aim of the pilot project is to improve the quality of products by means of vocational training at the three levels of the value-added chain in the food economy (production, processing, trade) and to fit those involved for production in accordance with the quality standards in force at any time.

(Good Agricultural Practice)-compliant. The farmers’ associations in Negros Oriental and Cebu Province are set to do the same in the course of 2016.
For the purposes of catch-up vocational training training courses in specific vocational fields (e.g. baking, butchery, food technology) have been offered by the trade & industry chambers for the food sector since 2013.
The chambers’ portfolio further includes services and training seminars in the area of GMP (good manufacturing practice) or HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points).

Dietmar Speckmaier

With the OURFood vocational training partnership programme the AFOS Foundation for Enterprise Development Cooperation in close cooperation with local partners, the Chamber of Industry and Trade in Cebu (CCCI) and those in Bacolod and Dumaguete have been supporting more than 800 farmers and 150 food producers earning a basic income mostly well below the poverty level.

The AFOS Foundation offers under the programme training, further-training and certification through the trade & industry chambers to raise the competitiveness of the businesses and their product quality and open up new markets.

Economic background conditions are thereby created that ensure our target groups lastingly stable incomes, open up long-term economic prospects and enable them and their families to live worthwhile lives.

A very satisfying and gratifying task for me as programme manager!

My very hearty thanks for your support!

With regards

Dietmar Speckmaier

Dietmar Speckmaier, long-term expert for OURFood in the Philippines

 

More information is available on the official Website of the OURFood Project here.

 

Here you can support the OURFood Project directly by your donation:

Projekt OURFood Projekt
Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone

OURFood Projekt

Alles über das Projekt: Die „OURFood Chronicles“ online.

Projektabschluss

Am 30. September wurde nach ganzen sieben Jahren fruchtbarer Zusammenarbeit von BKU und AFOS-Stiftung mit philippinischen Handelskammern das OURFood-Projekt nun offiziell abgeschlossen.

Die Mitarbeiter der AFOS-Stiftung sind stolz auf die Erfolge des Berufsbildungspartnerschafts-Projektes:

Mit dem Ziel der Einführung und Verbesserung von Qualifizierungsangeboten zur Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der philippinischen Lebensmittelindustrie wurden ab Oktober 2011 insgesamt 12 landwirtschaftliche Verbände, mit denen das Projekt zusammenarbeitete, nach den Standards der „good agricultural practices“ (GAP) zertifiziert, drei der involvierten Betriebe sogar Bio-zertifiziert. Insgesamt wurden 1.365 Kleinbauern in den Projektregionen, auf den Inseln Negros und Cebu,  in organischen und nachhaltigen Landwirtschaftstechniken von Schlüsselbauern ausgebildet. 285 Bauern wurden in den Grundlagen unternehmerischen Betriebsmanagements geschult. Außerdem wurde durch die organische Ausrichtung der Bauernverbände der Marktzugang so weit verbessert, dass mehr als 20 Produkte entsprechend den Marktanforderungen hergestellt und sechs neue Absatzmärkte mit den Bauernverbänden verbunden werden konnten.

Im Zuge des Projektes wurde nicht nur die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der einzelnen Kleinbetriebe verbessert; es zeichnet sich auch eine positive Einflussnahme auf die Entwicklung des Lebensmittelsektors ab: Mitgliedsunternehmen, die Dienstleistungen wie GAP-Schulungen und -Beratungen in ihre regulären Angebote integriert haben, haben sich in verschiedenen Gemeinden mit den lokalen Regierungseinheiten verbunden, um Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen zur Lebensmittelsicherheit durchzuführen.

Der formale Abschluss bedeutet keineswegs das Ende eines erfolgreichen Projektes: Die umwelt- und gesundheitsschonenden Praktiken, die im Rahmen der Schulungsprogramme des OURFood-Projektes erlernt wurden, werden bereits von 75 Prozent der Landwirte im eigenen Kleinbetrieb angewendet, während Multiplikatoren weitere Bauern für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Qualitätsstandards sensibilisieren und ihre qualifizierte Ausbildung weitervermitteln.

Nachhaltigkeit garantiert!

Qualifizierung im Lebensmittelsektor

Die Wahl der Lebensmittelwirtschaft als Pilotsektor spiegelt die Entwicklungsnotwendigkeiten und -potentiale wider. Die Philippinen sind Nettoimporteur von Lebensmitteln. Die Landwirtschaft und die weiter-verarbeitende Lebensmittelwirtschaft haben eine niedrige Produktivität und erfüllen die gängigen Standards der Lebensmittelsicherheit und –qualität nicht.

Ziel des Pilotprojektes ist es, durch berufliche Bildung entlang der drei Stufen der Wertschöpfungskette in der Lebensmittelwirtschaft (Produktion, Verarbeitung, Handel) die Qualität der Produkte zu erhöhen und die Beteiligten zur Produktion entsprechend der geltenden Qualitätsstandards zu befähigen.

Am OURFood-Projekt sind die Kooperationspartner (CCCI, ANP und NOCCI) mit einer Vielzahl von einschlägigen Trainings und Seminaren sowie mit Beratung, Marketing und Promotion beteiligt.
Die Kleinbauern, die mit ANP kooperieren, sind die ersten in den Philippinen, die GAP zertifiziert wurden (Good Agricultural Practices). Die Bauernverbände in Negros Oriental und Cebu Province werden voraussichtlich im Laufe des Jahres 2016 folgen.
Im Sinne einer nachholenden beruflichen Bildung werden von den Kammern für den Lebensmittelsektor seit 2013 Kurse in bestimmten Berufsfeldern (z.B. Bäckereihandwerk, Metzgerei, Lebensmitteltechnik) angeboten.
Darüber hinaus gehören Serviceleistungen und Trainingsseminare im Bereich GMP (Good Manfacturing Practices) oder HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points) zum Portfolio der Kammern.

Dietmar Speckmaier

Dietmar Speckmaier, Langzeitexperte für „OURFood“ auf den Philippinen

Mit dem Berufsbildungspartnerschafts-programm ‘OURFood‘ unterstützt die AFOS-Stiftung für Unternehmerische Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in enger Kooperation  mit lokalen Partnern, der Industrie- und Handelskammer in Cebu / CCCI und denjenigen in Bacolod und Dumaguete seit 2012 mehr als 800 Landwirte und 150 Lebensmittelproduzenten mit Grundeinkommen meist weit unter der Armutsgrenze.

Die AFOS-Stiftung bietet innerhalb des Programms Ausbildung, Weiterbildung und Zertifizierung über die Kammern an, so dass die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Betriebe, ihre Produkt-Qualität gesteigert und neue Märkte erschlossen werden können.

Dadurch entstehen wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen, die unseren Ziel-Gruppen nachhaltig stabile Einkommen sichern, langfristige ökonomische Perspektiven eröffnen und ihnen wie auch ihren Familien ein Leben in Würde ermöglichen.

Für mich als Programmleiter eine sehr befriedigende und dankbare Aufgabe!

Für Ihre Unterstützung mein ganz herzlicher Dank!

Ihr

Dietmar Speckmaier

Für mehr Informationen kommen Sie hier auf die offizielle Website des OURFood-Projektes.

Hier können Sie mit einer Spende ganz unkompliziert direkt das OURFood Projekt zu unterstützen:

Projekt OURFood Projekt
Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone