The AFOS Foundation for Entrepreneurial Development Cooperation

Entrepreneurial initiative beats poverty and creates prosperity

The AFOS Foundation for Entrepreneurial Development Cooperation (in Nigeria also registrated as “African Trust Funds Entrepreneurial Development“) supports micro and small businesses and the rising middle class in developing and emerging nations. It promotes access to microfinancing and financial services, vocational training, advice on product development, marketing and quality assurance, self-organisation in trade & industry chambers and associations and political representation of interests.
We are convinced, that entrepreneurial initiative generates value, creates stable and sustain-able incomes and workplaces – and is development! Responsible entrepreneurs are the best development workers!

The partner principle:

To support local micro and small businesses and the middle class, the AFOS Foundation locally always works with partner organisations such as

Our local partners are familiar with local situations and needs;  they know, ‘where the shoe pinches’. The AFOS Foundation mobilises expertise and funds, and at the same time, helps to further develop and professionalise its partners’ work. This aid to build capacity, ensures the effectiveness and sustainability of the foundation’s commitment.

 

We want to do away with the causes of migration, once and for all!

The AFOS Foundation’s work is inspired by Christian social ethics. It is guided by the principles of

  • human dignity
  • the common good, including the integrity of creation
  • solidarity and
  • subsidiarity

The foundation cooperates with partners of all denominations and religions.

For more information, please refer to the Preamble to the AFOS Foundation bylaws.

In its projects, AFOS Foundation draws upon the special expertise of other aid organisations, long-term and short-term experts and members of the Confederation of Catholic Entrepreneurs (BKU) and its network. Members of the BKU set up the Foundation in 2003. It grew out of the BKU’s joint initiative Afrika Fonds für Selbständigkeit [Africa Fund for Autonomy] (AFOS) with the Catholic aid organisations MISEREOR and Kolping International.
As an autonomous and charitable foundation, AFOS Foundation funds its activities with private donations and public grants, particularly from the Federal German Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The Foundation is administered by the Deutsches Stiftungszentrum [German Foundation Centre].

sequa gGmbH in Bonn is a proven AFOS Foundation partner of many years in the administration of the foundation’s projects in the Philippines.

 

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone

Die AFOS-Stiftung

Unternehmerische Initiative überwindet Armut und schafft Wohlstand

Die AFOS-Stiftung für Unternehmerische Entwicklungszusammenarbeit unterstützt Kleinunternehmer und den entstehenden Mittelstand in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Sie fördert den Zugang zu Mikrokrediten und Finanzdienstleistungen, beruflicher Bildung, Beratung zu Produktentwicklung, Marketing und Qualitätssicherung,
die Selbstorganisation in Kammern und Verbänden sowie
die politische Interessenvertretung.
Wir sind überzeugt: Unternehmerische Eigeninitiative generiert Wertschöpfung, schafft Einkommen und Arbeitsplätze – ist Entwicklung! Verantwortliche Unternehmer sind die besten Entwicklungshelfer!

Das Partnerprinzip:

Zur Unterstützung der lokalen Kleinunternehmer und des Mittelstandes arbeitet die AFOS-Stiftung vor Ort immer mit Partnerorganisationen, wie:

Unsere lokalen Partner kennen die örtlichen Gegebenheiten und Bedürfnisse: sie wissen, wo der Schuh drückt. Die AFOS-Stiftung mobilisiert Expertise und Finanzmittel und trägt dazu bei, die Arbeit der Partner weiterzuentwickeln und zu professionalisieren. Diese Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe sichert die Wirksamkeit und Nachhaltigkeit des Engagements.

Wir wollen Fluchtursachen nachhaltig beseitigen!

Die Arbeit der AFOS-Stiftung ist von der christlichen Gesellschaftslehre inspiriert. Sie orientiert sich an den Prinzipien:

  • der Menschenwürde
  • des Gemeinwohls – einschließlich der Bewahrung der Schöpfung
  • der Solidarität und
  • der Subsidiarität

Die Stiftung arbeitet mit Partnern aller Konfessionen und Religionen zusammen.

Mehr dazu lesen Sie in der Präambel zur Stiftungssatzung.

Die AFOS-Stiftung greift bei ihren Aktivitäten bei Bedarf auf die fachliche Expertise anderer Entwicklungsorganisationen, Lang- und Kurzzeitexperten sowie auf Mitglieder des Bundes Katholischer Unternehmer (BKU) und dessen Netzwerk zurück. Mitglieder des BKU haben die Stiftung 2003 gegründet. Sie ging hervor aus der Gemeinschaftsinitiative „Afrika Fonds Selbständigkeit“ (AFOS) des BKU mit dem katholischen Hilfswerk MISEREOR und Kolping International.
Als selbständige und gemeinnützige Stiftung finanziert die AFOS-Stiftung ihre Aktivitäten durch private Spenden und öffentliche Zuwendungen, vor allem seitens des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Betreut wird die Stiftung vom Deutschen Stiftungszentrum.

Die sequa gGmbH in Bonn ist der AFOS-Stiftung ein seit Jahren bewährter Partner bei der Administration ihrer Projekte auf den Philippinen.

Teilen
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPrint this pageEmail this to someone